TSB Buxton to close as 36 branches nationwide earmarked for closure

TSB has announced the closure of 36 branches across the UK, including the Buxton branch on Spring Gardens, aiming to achieve a better balance between digital and in-person banking services. This round of closures will reduce the total number of branches to 175 across the country, while maintaining other in-person banking options.

Approximately 250 jobs will be cut, primarily in the bank’s fraud operations, central operations, and among staff working at branches earmarked for closure. The bank explained that most customers now conduct their banking online, emphasising the need to optimise staffing between face-to-face and digital services.

Closures will begin in September 2024 and continue until May 2025. TSB Buxton will close on 10th September 2024.

The trade union Unite criticised the decision as a “grave mistake.”

Unite regional officer Andy Case said: “The decision by TSB to cut 250 roles is a grave mistake. These workers perform essential work in the fraud departments and across the branch network.

“Through extensive negotiations Unite has been able to substantially reduce the number of jobs at risk. However, that isn’t sufficient, the union is pressing TSB to urgently reconsider its damaging bank branch closures plan. At a time when customers are increasingly concerned about financial fraud and often need support from a local bank branch this is the wrong course of action.

“TSB customers will rightly be concerned by today’s news and they will undoubtedly suffer a downgrade in service from these job cuts.

The bank justified the branch closures by pointing to insufficient customer use. In a Branch Closure Review for Buxton, the bank noted, “Over 95% of transactions are now made via mobile, online, or other digital means rather than in branches, and more customers are using our Video and Telephone Banking service.”

Here is a list of the 36 branches set to close, with 27 scheduled for September 2024:

  • Alloa
  • Bedworth
  • Birmingham, Pype Hayes
  • Bridlington
  • Buxton
  • Carmarthen, Blue Street
  • Cwmbran, General Rees Square
  • Dovercourt
  • Edinburgh, Leith
  • Felixstowe
  • Frome
  • Glasgow, Cardonald
  • Glasgow, Castlemilk
  • Haddington
  • Hounslow
  • Lerwick
  • Leven
  • London, Bethnal Green
  • London, Clapham
  • Longton
  • Manchester, Middleton
  • Newcastle Upon Tyne, Milvain
  • Peterhead
  • Sheerness
  • Stornoway
  • Torquay, St Marychurch
  • Whitehaven

Nine branches will close in May 2025:

  • Amble
  • Aylsham
  • Banff
  • Bedlington
  • Bude
  • Crook
  • Flint
  • Tenbury Wells
  • Whitchurch

Read more on the closures including the Buxton branch here.

Did You Enjoy This?

You might like our regular newsletter. We put all the best events, cultural highlights and offers from Buxton and the Peak District in your inbox every month.

This information will only be used to send you this newsletter. It is stored in Mailchimp.