Covid alert levels – what do they mean? Check your postcode online

Three tier lockdown system

Every area in England falls into one of three Covid alert levels. The UK government introduced the different alert levels in October to tackle rising cases of coronavirus across the country. But what does each alert level mean?

The High Peak is currently in Tier 1 Medium, except Glossopdale which is currently in Tier 2 High; however the whole of the High Peak and Derbyshire will move to Tier 2 High on Saturday 31st October.

Local COVID Alert Level postcode checker

You can check current the alert level (and restrictions which apply to each level) for an area on the UK Government website by entering the postcode you want information about.

Go to

Derbyshire’s Director of Public Health Dean Wallace, who is leading the county’s response to the outbreak, urged people to follow the tighter ‘lockdown’ rules.

“We all have a duty to do everything it takes to stop the spread of this highly contagious virus. The steep rise in the numbers of cases is deeply concerning, although not surprising given the close proximity to areas which have been under extra restrictions for a while, so it’s more important than ever that we all work together to beat this.”

“I’m really proud of the way Derbyshire communities have supported each other through this epidemic but this isn’t over – we simply can’t afford to take our eye off the ball.”

“I realise that these extra restrictions on our lives will be frustrating but they are also necessary as we’re seeing a lot of community transmission in that area.”

“I cannot emphasise enough that from Wednesday people from different households should not be mixing indoors, unless it is with people who are in their ‘bubble’ and they should stick to the ‘Rule of 6’ when outside.”

“I know it’s difficult but I’m asking everyone to summon their famous Derbyshire spirit and play their part to keep themselves, their family, friends and colleagues safe,” he said.

For more general information about coronavirus, how and when to get a test, when to self-isolate, how to access support and the numbers of cases in Derbyshire visit:

What is the three tier lockdown system?

The three-tier system which was introduced in October sees every area of England classed as being on medium, high or very high alert.

The NHS Covid-19 app also shows the alert level for an area. The app is free to download from Google Play and the App Store.
As well as following the continued guidance to wash hands, stay 2 meters apart and wear a face covering in various settings, each alert level is:

Tier 1 – Medium

  • 10pm curfew for bars, pubs and restaurants
  • Gatherings of more than six people banned, apart from some settings such as funerals and weddings

Tier 2 – High:

  • Mixing of households banned (unless they are in your support bubble) – this includes at home, someone else’s home, pubs, restaurants, hotels or other hospitality venues, leisure venues or shops.
  • Two households can meet in a private garden – rule of six and social distancing rules apply
  • Aim to reduce journeys where possible

Tier 3 – Very high:

  • No mixing of households indoors and outdoors, including in private gardens
  • Pubs and bars to close
  • Restaurants, and pubs that can operate as restaurants, allowed to stay open
  • Local politicians will decide if gyms, betting shops, casinos, hairdressers and beauty salons should close
  • Non-essential shops, schools and universities to remain open
  • Avoid non-essential travel
  • Travel outside their area advised against – including staying overnight in another part of the UK if they are resident in a ‘Very High’ area, or avoid staying overnight in a ‘Very High’ area if they are resident elsewhere

Did You Enjoy This?

You might like our regular newsletter. We put all the best events, cultural highlights and offers from Buxton and the Peak District in your inbox every fortnight.

This information will only be used to send you this newsletter. It is stored in Mailchimp.